Staff

The Arc Western Wayne County Staff

 

Cheryl S. Polite
Executive Director
cherylp@thearcww.org

 

Darlene Heard Thomas

Community Advocate
darlenet@thearcww.org

 

Darlene has been our Community Advocate since 2002. Her experience working with people with disabilities is personal, as she has navigated systems and advocated on behalf of her daughter, who has cerebral palsy. Darlene has worked continuously to help people with disabilities to be included in the community and to be able to have active, productive lives. Darlene feels, “this work truly is my passion and my mission.”

 

Aishah Amatul-Musawwir
Administrative Services
aishah@thearcww.org

 

Aishah heads up Administrative Services. She joined the team in 2005. In addition to acting as personal assistant to the Executive Director, Aishah also works closely with the Fiscal Intermediary program and manages membership at The Arc. Aishah is working towards her Associate Degree in Business Administration at Oakland Community College.

 

Crystal Rushlow
Comptroller
crystal@thearcww.org

 

Ami Bennett
ami@thearcww.org

 

Tequila Smith

Systems Navigator 
tequila@thearcww.org

Tequila holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Social Work. Tequilas experience working with people with disabilities is personal, she has a sister that has Wolf-Hirschhorn syndrome. Tequila has a passion to advocate and support individuals and their families with navigating the mental health system. She believes that it is important for people with disabilities to live a full and productive life.

 

Maurice Cox
Janitor